“Judy Garland – The Best of Lost Tracks” Set for Late November Release

Posted by

Judy Garland - The Best of Lost Tracks 1929-1959Judy Garland: The Best of Lost Tracks 1929-1959 is set for release on November 20th, 2015.  This highlights CD is all newly remastered – all the featured tracks sound better than ever before, as do the new to CD bonus tracks!

FOUR brand-new-to-CD tracks have been added, along with the newly remastered “best of” tracks that are featured.  John Haley, the expert audio engineer who gloriously restored and remastered the tracks in the best-selling Swan Songs, First Flights CD set, has returned to provide sparkling new restorations.

You can still purchase the original 4-CD “Lost Tracks” set here.



  1. Bill (O. Hammerstein II/J. Kern)
  2. Medley: On The Good Ship Lollipop (S. Clare/R.A. Whiting)/The Object Of My Affection (J. Greer/C.H. Poe/P. Tomlin)/Dinah (S.M. Lewis/J. Young/H. Akst)
  3. Broadway Rhythm (A. Freed/N.H. Brown)
  4. Franklin D. Roosevelt Jones (H.J. Rome)
  5. Comes Love (S.H. Stept/C. Tobias/L. Brown)
  6. Minnie From Trinidad (R. Edens)
  7. Over The Rainbow ( Y. Harburg/H. Arlen)
  8. On The Sunny Side Of The Street (D. Fields/J. McHugh)
  9. Zing! Went The Strings Of My Heart (J. Hanley)
  10. The Boy Next Door (H. Martin/R. Blane)
  11. Speak Low (O. Nash/K. Weill)
  12. The Trolley Song (H. Martin/R. Blane)
  13. Long Ago (And Far Away) (I. Gershwin/J. Kern)
  14. I May Be Wrong (But I Think You’re Wonderful) (H.Ruskin/H. Sullivan)
  15. I’ve Got The Sun In The Morning (I. Berlin)
  16. (I’m In Love With) A Wonderful Guy (O. Hammerstein II/R. Rodgers)
  17. Mean To Me (R. Turk/F.E. Ahlert)
  18. My Ship (Has Sails That Are Made of Silk) (I. Gershwin/K. Weill)
  19. Look For The Silver Lining (B.G. De Sylva/J. Kern)
  20. Who? (O. Harbach/O. Hammerstein II/J. Kern)
  21. The Man That Got Away (I. Gershwin/H. Arlen)
  22. The Land Of Let’s Pretend (G. Clarke/H. Akst)


  1. On Revival Day (A. Razaf)*
  2. Goody Goodbye (J. Cavanaugh/N. Simon)
  3. Ding, Dong, The Witch is Dead (E. Y. Harburg/H. Arlen)*
  4. Over The Rainbow (E. Y. Harburg/H. Arlen)*
  5. The Stars And Stripes Forever (J.P. Sousa)*

*First time on CD

Audio Restoration and Remastering by Peter Rynston of Tall Order Mastering and John H. Haley of Harmony Restorations LLC, except tracks 1, 2, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27 by John H. Haley alone.

Tracks 1, 2, and 22 are used with the kind permission of DOREMI/HALLOW

Judy Garland - The Best of Lost Tracks 1929-1959




  1. Thanks, Scott. I just wanted to point out that the the bonus version of “Over the Rainbow” on this CD is the only recording we have of Judy Garland singing “Over the Rainbow” that includes the very beautiful opening verse, which was not used in the movie or apparently otherwise sung by her. I spent a lot of time restoring the poor sounding source for this track (I searched for better without success), which was a preserved live broadcast from the Louella Parsons radio show in 1948. Despite all the work I did on this, the sound quality remains “limited,” shall we say, but at least Judy’s lovely performance of this rare treasure can be heard and appreciated, which is what matters most.

    She is accompanied by two pianos, which is unusual. This recording is also unusual in that it is a rare performance by Judy of this song in a key other than the one she almost always used for it, A-Flat. In this broadcast she sings it in A, a half tone higher, just as she had done in another broadcast a few months earlier, which used the same arrangement of the accompaniment, although there played by one piano with orchestra (and sadly, without the opening verse). It is hard to guess why she did not sing the opening verse more often–I can only speculate that she wanted to sing “Over the Rainbow” just as people were used to hearing it.

    Lawrence Schulman did a fantastic job of selecting songs from his 2010 “Lost Tracks” set for this new “Best of” compilation. Every song is a real gem, and it is noteworthy that all of them, apart from the three early recordings, are live recordings, from either radio or live concerts. Judy is really fantastic in all of them.

    John Haley

  2. “On Revival Day” is not new to CD. As it’s already on the CD “Classiques et Inedits,” you might want to make a correction before the release.

  3. Gee Lawrence, please believe me. I didn’t mean to be critical. I have no doubt the new version sounds much better, which I’ll order as soon as it’s released. Who could ever want to hang a fellow Garland fan any way? Especially one as expert as you certainly are. It’s thanks to you that we have any version of it in the first place. I was just responding to a new e- mail showing the original cover for the new set. Please keep up the good work and find some more unreleased performances. Thanks for all you do.

  4. They’ll release the “Lost Tracks Volume 2: 1936-1967”, there’s a pre-sale in amazon.com. Can’t wait for that!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.