Universal Japan to reissue TEN Judy Garland CDs in “UHQCD” format June 8, 2022

Posted by

Universal Japan has announced that they are reissuing ten Judy Garland CDs in the UHQCD (Ultra High Quality CD) format this June 8th!

A huge thanks to Kaoru for sharing this info.  Thanks, Kaoru!

You can purchase the CDs here, at CD Japan, for a much cheaper price than on Amazon (subject to change).

Details of the CDs are below, as is the press release.  It’s in Japanese, of course, but it basically says:
In commemoration of the 100th anniversary of the birth of the legendary 20th-Century diva Judy Garland, 10 masterpiece albums she recorded for Capitol Records have been carefully selected and are being reissued on UHQCD!

Included are Judy’s first album for the label, “Miss Show Business,” her first live album “Garland at the Grove,” and her legendary “Live at the London Palladium” in which she’s joined by her legendary daughter, Liza Minnelli.  Several of the CDs are making their Japanese CD debut (noted below).  

* Notes first time on CD in the Japanese market (according to the press release)
UCCU-45038 Miss Show Business * 
UCCU-45039 Judy *
UCCU-45040 Alone * (includes the bonus track)
UCCU-45041 Judy in Love
UCCU-45042 The Letter * (this is the expanded version first released in 2007)
UCCU-45043 That’s Entertainment! *
UCCU-45044 The Garland Touch * (this is the expanded version first released in 2009)
UCCU-45045 Garland at the Grove * (this is the expanded version first released in 2008)
UCCU-45046 Judy Garland and Liza Minnelli – Live at The London Palladium * (this is the expanded version first released in 2010)
UCCU-45047 Live! * 


  1. This Is The Time Of The Evening / While We’re Young
  2. Medley: You Made Me Love You / For Me and My Gal / The Boy Next Door / The Trolley Song
  3. A Pretty Girl Milking Her Cow
  4. Rock-a-Bye Your Baby With A Dixie Melody
  5. Happiness Is Just A Thing Called Joe
  6. Medley: Judy at the Palace / Shine On Harvest Moon / Some Of These Days / My Man / I Don’t Care Don’t Care
  7. Carolina in the Morning
  8. Danny Boy
  9. After You’ve Gone
  10. Over The Rainbow


  1. Come Rain Or Come Shine
  2. Just Imagine
  3. I Feel A Song Coming On
  4. Last Night When We Were Young
  5. Life is Just a Bowl of Cherries
  6. April Showers
  7. I Will Come Back
  8. Dirty Hands, Dirty Face
  9. Lucky Day
  10. Memories of You
  11. Any Place I Hang My Hat Is Home

Alone LP


  1. By Myself
  2. Little Girl Blue
  3. Me and My Shadow
  4. Among My Souvenirs
  5. I Gotta Right to Thing the Blues
  6. I Get The Blues When It Rains
  7. Mean to Me
  8. How About Me
  9. Just a Memory
  10. Blue Prelude
  11. Happy New Year
  12. Then You’ve Never Been Blue (bonus track)

(only the mono version has previously been released in Japan, so it’s unclear if this is that or the stereo version)

  1. Zing! Went the Strings of My Heart
  2. I Can’t Give You Anything But Love
  3. This is it
  4. More Than You Know
  5. I Am Loved
  6. I Hadn’t Any One ‘Till You
  7. I Concentrate On You
  8. I’m Confessin’
  9. Do I Love You?
  10. Do It Again
  11. Day In Day Out

Judy Garland and John Ireland - The Letter - Capitol Records

THE LETTER (this is the expanded version first released in 2007)

  1. Beautiful Trouble
  2. Love In The Village
  3. Charley’s Blues – (Vocal solo by Charley LaVere)
  4. The Worst Kind Of Man
  5. That’s All there Is, There Isn’t Any More
  6. Love In Central Park
  7. The Red Balloon
  8. The Fight
  9. At The Stroke Of Midnight
  10. Come Back
    Bonus Tracks (Single Versions)
  11. Beautiful Trouble (alternate vocal take and musical ending)
  12. That’s All There Is, There Isn’t Any More
  13. The Worst Kind of Man (alternate musical ending)
  14. The Red Balloon (alternate vocal take and musical ending)

Judy Garland - "Judy - That's Entertainment!" Capitol Records LP


  1. That’s Entertainment
  2. Who Cares?
  3. I’ve Confessed to the Breeze
  4. If I Love Again
  5. Yes
  6. Puttin’ on the Ritz
  7. Old Devil Moon
  8. Down with Love
  9. How Long Has This Been Going On?
  10. It Never Was You
  11. Just You, Just Me
  12. Alone Together

THE GARLAND TOUCH (this is the expanded version first released in 2009)

  1. Lucky Day
  2. I Happen to Like New York
  3. Comes Once In A Lifetime
  4. Judy at the Palace (Medley)
  5. Happiness is a Thing Cold Joe
  6. Sweet Danger
  7. You’ll Never Walk Alone
  8. Do I Love You?
  9. More than you know
  10. It’s a Great Day for the Irish
    Bonus Tracks
  11. Why Was I Born?
  12. Stormy Weather
  13. It’s Lovely to Be Back in London
  14. Come Rain Or Come Shine
  15. Chicago
  16. San Francisco

GARLAND AT THE GROVE (this is the expanded version first released in 2008)

  1. Garland Overture
  2. When You Are Smiling
  3. Day In, Day Out
  4. I Can’t Give You Anything But Love
  5. Zing! Went the Strings of My Heart
  6. Purple People Eater
  7. Medley: You Made Me Love You / For Me and My Gal / The Trolley Song
  8. Do It Again
  9. When the Sun Comes Out
  10. Rockabye Your Baby With A Dixie Melody
  11. Over the Rainbow
  12. After Youve Gone
  13. A Pretty Girl Milking Her Cow
  14. Swanee

(this is the expanded version first released in 2010)

  1. Overture: Beyond the Rainbow / Never Will I Marry / What Now My Love / Liza / The Travelin’ Life / Smile / The Man That Got Away
  2. Once in a Lifetime
  3. Just in time
  4. Travelin Life
  5. Gypsy in My Soul
  6. Hello, Dolly!
  7. Together Where Ever We Go
  8. Medley: We Could Make Such Beautiful Music / Bob White
  9. Medley: Hooray for Love / After You’ve Gone / By Myself / ‘S Wonderful / How About You? / Lover Come Back To Me / You and Night and Music / It All Depends On You
  10. Who’s Sorry Now?
  11. Smile
  12. How Could You Believe Me When I Said I Love You When You Know I’ve Been A Liar All My Life
  13. What Now My Love?
  14. Medley: Introduction / Take Me Along / If I Could Be With You / Tea For Two / Who? / They Can’t Take That Away From Me / By Myself / Take Me Along / Mammy
  15. Make Someone Happy
  16. Pass That Peace Pipe
  17. The Man That Got Away
  18. The Music That Makes Me Dance
  19. Medley: When the Saints Go Marchin’ In / The Brotherhood of Man
  20. He’s Got The Whole World In His Hands
  21. Never Will I Marry
  22. Swanee
  23. Chicago
  24. Over the Rainbow
  25. San Francisco

Judy Garland Live! 1989 CD


  1. Sail away
  2. Something’s Coming
  3. Just in Time
  4. Get Me to the Church On Time
  5. Never Will I Marry
  6. Joey, Joey, Joey
  7. Hey Look Me Over
  8. Some People
  9. The Party’s Over
  10. It’s a Good Day
  11. That’s All
  12. Fly Me to the Moon
  13. I Wish You Love
  14. As Long As He Needs Me

You can purchase the CDs here, at CD Japan, for a much cheaper price than on Amazon.


  1. Do you need a special CD player for UHQCD CDs? I guess the question is dumb but I just don’t know.
    Thank You
    Dan Oldrati

    1. No. They will play on regular CD players. Google “What is UHQCD?” and there are explanations. Basically, they’re high quality CDs, much better than the standard CDs meaning they last longer and apparently won’t get “disc rot.”

  2. Hoping Judy In Love will be in STEREO this time!
    Also, what about I Could Go On Singing?

    1. I hope it’s the stereo version as well. Japan always does a great job with the quality of their CDs. No word on ICGOS but maybe if these sell well, we’ll get more. 🙂

  3. Somehow I can’t justify buying all of them again. I’m only curious about “Garland At The Grove” right now. The DRG issue was plagued by an offensive hum. I wonder if this has been corrected for the Japanese release. Looking forward to your comments on these new releases 🙂

  4. Can someone comment on the actual sound quality of the new issues compared with those of previous CD issues?

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.